Corporate Governance



In strict accordance with the Company Law of the People's Republic of China, the Securities Exchange Act of the United States and other relevant laws and regulations, VNET consistently improves the modern corporate governance structure, actively creates a positive internal and external governance environment, protects the interests of all shareholders, and promotes the healthy and stable development of the Group. The robust governance structure is comprised of the general meeting of shareholders, the Board of Directors and its subordinate committees, as well as the management. Under the supervision and guidance of these Board committees, the Board of Directors provides consultation and suggestions on the management of various divisions. This involves formulating relevant strategies, supervising their implementation, and monitoring the operational and financial performance of the Group, ensuring soundness of internal control and risk management systems.


We believe that board diversity brings different perspectives for the development of the Group and provides a solid foundation for promoting sustainability. In accordance with committee charters, the Corporate Governance and Nomination Committee evaluates the Board structure every year in terms of independence, expertise, skill and experience of Board members. It is devoted to selecting the most qualified members according to the principle of diversity. The factors to be considered include but are not limited to gender, cultural background and race. This is to ensure the balance between skill, experience and view diversity and improve the board effectiveness. The current directors of the Group are all equipped with professional qualities and strong educational background.


The Group encourages our directors to take up professional training and courses tailored to their needs, as well as providing them with legal and regulatory updates for reference and study. We aim to enhance the board's awareness and performance in the respective areas. We invest in the anti-corruption training for them. All directors of the Group have participated in various forms of anti-corruption training.



ESG Governance



VNET integrates environmental, social and governance (ESG) management philosophy into major decisions of the Group, promotes high-quality development of the Group, and safeguards the interests of investors, customers, employees, communities and other stakeholders. The Group incorporates ESG governance into the corporate governance structure, which consists of all levels of corporate hierarchy including the board, board committees, management, coordinating departments and business departments.







The Group established a comprehensive ESG topic list in accordance with the SHIELD sustainable system, which will be applicable in the medium and long run. The procedure of our material issues assessment is as follows:





Our materiality assessment is as follow:





We enhance the disclosure of material issues in accordance with the results of this assessment on regular basis. In daily operations, we will take on board these results as guidance for our future work. We will consistently optimize our work, as part of the efforts to respond to stakeholders' expectations. This will increase trust and cooperation whilst jointly advancing the sustainable development of the Group and the society.



Risk Prevention and Control



VNET firmly believes that the effective risk management and internal control hold the key to the success of the Group. In accordance with the NASDAQ's Corporate Governance Guidelines and other guidelines, we develop risk management and internal control systems tailored to the characteristics of our business development. We identify and give early warnings to financial and non-financial risks in the operation process, as well as put in place an effective risk prevention and control mechanism. We also clearly define the roles and responsibilities assumed by the Board of Directors, Board of Supervisors, management, internal control teams and external audit agencies in the risk prevention and control system to ensure both soundness and effectiveness.



"Three Lines of Defense" for Risk Management



Based on the COSO Internal Control-Integrated Framework issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO) and in accordance with the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, VNET adopts the three lines of defense model for risk management. The model distinguishes the level and role of different lines of defense involved in risk management and defines the control process for risks of various types. The first line of defense focuses on the prevention and control of business-related risks through regular business processes. The second line of defense manages risk-related tasks and activities from the perspective of functional departments. It guides and oversees the first line of defense to optimize risk management. The third line of defense provides postevent examination and assessment of the operation of the first and second lines of defense by the Internal Control Department. In doing this, we identify problems and arrange for rectifications to ensure the implementation and optimization of risk management policies and responsibilities.





Forward-looking Risk Management



VNET pays particular attention to risks that are highly sensitive to corporate operations, such as the risk of relevant transactions. We are committed to implementing a comprehensive and forward-looking risk management system, and effectively controlling potential risks such as climate change and energy supply risks. We have formulated a series of emergency response guidelines, such as the Response System for Sudden-onset Emergencies, and obtained the disaster recovery information security service qualification certification issued by China Cybersecurity Review Technology and Certification Center, which safeguards the normal business operation of the Group amid potential risks.



Internal Control Audit



We conduct annual test and self-evaluation of the effectiveness in the design and execution of the internal control system. We also invite external auditors annually to assess the effectiveness of the internal control of financial reports and disclose the significant defects identified in the internal control of non-financial reports. The full text of financial and internal control audit reports presented by the auditors are published on our official website for review and supervision by all parties.



Business Ethics



We believe in the importance of upholding business ethics in the fiercely competitive and fast-changing global business environment and pledge to conduct business operations in accordance with the highest ethical standards. We formulated and issued the Code of Business Conduct and Ethical Standards, requiring employees of the Group and third-party agencies to engage in business activities accordingly.


As a corporate member of United Nations Global Compact (UNGC), VNET has always unswervingly protected internationally recognized human rights. We oppose any disregard or violation of human rights, and never tolerate any unlawful discrimination or harassment against race, ethnicity, region, gender, age, nationality or class, etc. We incorporate personal privacy protection, employee rights protection, and supply chain human rights protection into our business activities and proactively promote the implementation of related work. We also respect the right of existence and development for the poor, the disabled and other special groups, and lend support to the development of human rights in disadvantaged and remote areas.



Anti-corruption



VNET adopts zero-tolerance policies towards corruption. Adhering to the handling principles of education, supervision, punishment, and protection, we establish a complete integrity management system and formulate various policies, such as the Gift Registration System, the Integrity Inspection System, the Integrity Conservation System, the Integrity and Whistleblowing Rewards Program, and the Whistleblowing and Whistleblower Protection Policy. In addition to specifying the anti-corruption system, supervision management, integrity education, whistleblowing, and investigation, we also require all employees and third-party suppliers to sign the Anti-bribery Commitment Letter, and implement an effective whole-process anti-corruption mechanism, so as to ensure the healthy, stable and long-term development of the Group.



Risk Prevention



VNET establishes an anti-corruption risk identification management process, conducts regular bi-annual inspections to identify and urge relevant departments to resolve risks in a timely manner. Based on the risk identification and evaluation system model, we identify potential integrity risks and management loopholes within the Group in the daily work. After confirming the existence of risks, the Integrity Department and the Audit Department will jointly conduct investigations, and carry out quantitative analysis of integrity risks. According to the complaints and feedback from external channels, we also investigate post responsibilities and corruption risks, identify the risks of corruption events and solve them promptly.



Whistleblowing Mechanism



VNET has developed an effective whistleblowing and handling system led by our Integrity Department. Any stakeholder or individual can make a complaint, either using their name or remaining anonymous, by e-mail, phone, or other means. We resolutely fight non-compliant misconducts such as accepting, giving or seeking bribes, and kickbacks. VNET has developed a sound whistleblowing process and whistleblower protection system. We initiate investigations for reports and complaints and set up units to carry out these investigations. The investigation process and results are reported directly to both the management and the Board of Directors.





Whistleblower Protection



The Group protects and respects every whistleblower. We adhere to the "protection of whistleblowers and anonymous investigations" to resolutely safeguard their interests. We also strictly control the access to whistleblowing-related information within the Group. Confidential materials that are involved in the investigations are protected through such means as technical encryption and physical isolation. The whistleblower-related information, such as name, workplace, and contact details, shall not be disclosed under any circumstances unless there is consent from the whistleblower. The Group also welcomes anonymous whistleblowing and makes whistleblowing channels available. The Group deals with the investigators who violate the confidentiality of whistleblowing, fail to perform their duties, retaliate against the whistleblowers, or take hostile measures against other investigators in a serious manner. If the circumstances are serious enough to constitute a crime, they shall be transferred to judicial organs.



Anti-corruption Promotion and Training



VNET highly values the anti-corruption training and focuses on building a corporate culture of transparency and integrity. The Group has publicized articles and warning cases on integrity education to all employees and directors through DingTalk bulletin boards and office posters. We carry out integrity training and educational seminars tailored to those departments and employees with higher corruption risks, and supervise their behaviors in daily management. In addition, VNET joined the Anti-Fraud Alliance in 2019, and participated in online courses and offline training sessions organized by the Alliance on a regular basis to ensure the best practice of business ethics and compliance requirements are met.



Sustainable Supply Chain Management



VNET boasts diverse business partners and values procurement process management. In strict compliance with national laws and applicable industry guidelines, we have developed the Regulations on Procurement Management, the Regulations on Supplier Management, and the Code of Conduct for Procurement Personnel for responsible procurement, which committed to establishing to mutually beneficial cooperation with suppliers for the long term. We identify, prevent, and control potential risks in all aspects of procurement. We assess suppliers in terms of their financial risks, business ethics, EHS management, quality management, and etc. throughout our review process from multiple perspectives. This involves shortlisting, on-site inspection, internal evaluation and test, public announcement of the shortlisting, and selection.


We regularly review existing suppliers to screen out premium candidates based on service awareness, product quality and capability to fulfill obligations. Substandard suppliers are required to conduct rectification and would be eliminated if the rectifications proved to be below our standards.


VNET is committed to building a sustainable supply system, aiming to safeguard procurement needs and ensure obligation fulfillment while actively urging our suppliers to improve sustainability. In each work process of the supplier management, we incorporate considerations on their ESG risks and focus on their performance in environmental protection and low carbon, information security, labor rights and interests, occupational health and safety, as well as honesty and integrity.



· Environmental protection and low carbon: We prefer suppliers with ISO 14001 and sound carbon management


· Information security: We sign the contracts and the Supplier Confidentiality Agreement with suppliers who have confirmed the partnership with us to clarify information security responsibilities and confidentiality obligations


· Labor rights and interests: We strictly prohibit suppliers from employing child labor and forced labor, and actively protect and promote the legitimate rights and interests of employees across the supply chain


· Occupational health and safety: Suppliers are required to comply with applicable safety regulations, establish a sound occupational health protection system, and provide health and safety training to their staff when appropriate


· Honesty and integrity: We conduct anti-corruption training for procurement personnel. We also require all suppliers to sign the Anti-bribery Commitment Letter and synchronize the information of dishonest suppliers to the database of the China Enterprise Anti-Fraud Alliance.

The World’s Most Influential Cyberspace Infrastructure Service Provider

EN

公司治理



世纪互联严格遵循《中华人民共和国公司法》《美国证券交易法》等相关法律法规,不断完善现代企业治理结构,积极营造良好的内外部治理环境,切实维护全体股东利益,促进集团的健康稳定发展。我们建立由股东大会、董事会及其下属各专门委员会及管理层组成的规范有序的治理结构。在各个专业委员会监督及引领下,董事会为各部门管理提供工作指导和建议,包括通过制订战略及监督实施,监察本集团的营运及财务表现,确保设立完善的内部控制及风险管理制度。


我们认为,多元化的董事会成员构成有利于为企业发展带来不同视角的观点,是促进集团可持续发展的重要基础。集团治理及提名委员依据委员会章程,每年都从董事会成员的独立性、知识、技能、经验等层面评估董事会构成,致力于按多元化原则择取最佳人选,包括但不限于性别、文化背景及种族,以确保在技能、经验及观点多元化方面维持适当的平衡,从而提升董事会的效力。集团的现任董事均具备扎实专业素养和良好的教育背景。


本集团鼓励董事参与合适的持续专业培训及课程,亦向董事提供包括法律及监管更新的相关文件,供董事参考及研究,提升董事会成员的合规意识和履职能力。我们注重对董事的反贪污培训,本集团所有董事均参与了不同形式的反贪腐培训。



ESG治理



世纪互联将ESG管理理念融入到集团重要决策中,推动集团高质量发展,维护投资者、客户、员工、社区等利益相关方的利益。集团将ESG治理融入集团治理架构,涵盖董事会、专业委员会、管理层、协调部门和业务部门等各个层面。







集团依据SHIELD可持续发展体系建立完整ESG议题库,预计在中长期内适用。我们的重要性议题评估程序如下图所述:





我们的重要性评估如下图所示:





我们将根据重要性议题评估结果,定期通过报告加强重要议题的披露。在日常经营活动中,我们也将ESG议题评估结果作为未来工作方向的指导,不断开展改进工作,以回应利益相关方期望,增强信任与合作,共同推动本集团和社会的可持续发展。



风险防控



世纪互联始终认为,有效的风险管理和内部控制对集团的成功运作至关重要。我们参照纳斯达克交易所《企业管治守则》等指引内容,结合集团业务发展特点建立风险管理及内部控制系统,对运营过程中的财务和非财务风险进行识别和预警,形成有效的风险防控机制,并明确董事会、监事会、管理层、内控团队及外部审计机构在风险防控体系中的角色与责任,确保其健全有效。



风险管理“三道防线”



世纪互联基于反虚假财务报告委员会下属的发起人委员会发布的《内部控制整合框架》 ,遵循萨班斯—奥克斯利法案(the Sarbanes-Oxley Act)风险管理的三道防线,明确风险管理工作的层次和分工,制定针对各类风险的具体控制程序。风险管控的第一道防线侧重对各项业务相关风险进行防范和控制;第二道防线从职能部门角度,对风险相关的任务与活动进行管理,对第一道防线的运作进行合理的监控和指导,确保管理效果的最优化;第三道防线通过内控部门对前两道防线的运作进行事后检查、评估,明确并组织整改存在的问题,确保风险管理各项政策、职责的落实及持续优化。





前瞻性风险管理



世纪互联在重点关注包括关联交易风险在内的与企业运营高度相关的风险项的基础上,致力于执行更具全面性和前瞻性的风险管理工作,有效管控包括气候变化、能源供应风险在内的潜在风险点,建立了《突发灾害应急处理制度》等应急指导性文件,并获得了中国网络安全审查技术与认证中心颁发的灾难恢复类信息安全服务资质认证,保障企业在潜在风险下的正常运营。



内控审计



我们按照每年一次的固定周期对内部控制体系的设计有效性和执行有效性进行测试与自我评价,亦每年聘请审计师对财务报告内部控制的有效性进行审计, 并对其注意到的非财务报告内部控制的重大缺陷进行披露。



商业道德



我们深明坚守道德标准在如今这个充满竞争和瞬息万变的全球商业环境中的重要性,并承诺按照最高道德标准开展经营活动。我们制定并发布世纪互联《商业行为与道德准则规范》,要求集团及第三方员工全面遵循规范要求开展商业活动。


作为联合国全球契约组织(United Nations Global Compact,UNGC)的企业成员,世纪互联始终支持保护各项国际公认人权。我们反对任何漠视与践踏人权的行为,不容忍任何非法针对种族民族、地域、性别、年龄、国家或阶层等的歧视或骚扰。我们将个人隐私安全保护、员工权益保护、供应链人权保护等工作融入业务之中,积极推动相关工作的执行。我们亦尊重贫困人口、残疾人及其他特殊人群的生存与发展权,帮助并支持贫困地区、偏远地区人权事业发展。



反贪污



世纪互联对贪污腐败行为采取“零容忍”态度,秉承教育、监督、惩处、保护的处理原则,建立了完善的廉洁管理体系,并制定有《礼品礼金登记制度》《廉政巡察制度》《廉政谈话制度》《廉洁及举报奖励方案》《举报与举报人保护政策》等,在反贪污制度、监督管理、廉政教育,信访举报,核实查处等方面做出详细规定,并要求全体员工及第三方供应商签署《反商业贿赂行为承诺书》,做到事前有准入、事中有预警、事后有执法的有效机制,保障企业健康、稳定、长远的发展。



风险防范



世纪互联建立反贪污风险识别管理流程,每半年进行定期巡查识别风险点,并及时督促相关部门进行解决。在日常工作中,依据风险识别评价体系模型,在集团范围内识别潜在廉洁风险及管理漏洞。确定存在风险后,由廉政监察部联合审计部门进行深入调查,廉洁风险进行量化分析。同时,针对信访举报、外部渠道反馈结果,我们亦逐一排查岗位职责和腐败风险点,深入识别贪污事件发生风险并及时解决。



举报机制



世纪互联打造了由廉政监察部主导的举报及受理体系。各相关利益方及公众均可以通过邮箱及电话等渠道进行实名或匿名举报投诉,坚决打击受贿、行贿、索贿、收受回扣等不合规行为。同时,世纪互联设置了完善的举报受理流程及举报人保护制度,对需展开调查的举报及投诉立即启动调查程序,成立调查小组,开展调查工作,调查流程及处理结果直接向管理层和董事会汇报。





举报人保护



集团保护并尊重每一位举报人,实行“举报保护、调查回避”的基本原则,坚决维护举报人利益,严格控制集团内部举报信息知悉范围,通过技术加密和物理隔绝等手段严格保密调查过程中涉及的材料。除非举报人同意,任何情况下不公开举报人姓名、工作单位、联系方式等信息。集团亦接受匿名举报,且保障匿名举报的渠道畅通。对违反保密规定不正当履行职责的调查人员,对举报人打击报复、或对调查人员采取敌对措施的人员,集团依法严肃处理,情节严重的,移交司法机关。



反贪污宣贯及培训



世纪互联高度重视反贪污培训工作,致力于建设透明、诚信的廉洁文化。集团通过钉钉公告栏及张贴办公室海报的方式向全体员工及董事宣传及推送廉政建设主题相关文章及警示案例,提示员工及董事注意自身行为,严守廉洁纪律。集团依据部门业务特性,对相关风险较高的部门及员工开展针对性的廉洁培训及教育座谈会,并在日常管理中进行重点监察。世纪互联于2019 年加入企业反舞弊联盟以来,定期参与反舞弊联盟组织的线上课程及线下培训,切实践行商业道德合规理念。



可持续供应链管理



世纪互联拥有多元的业务合作伙伴并重视对采购流程的管理。我们严格遵守国家法律法规及业内相关规定,通过《采购管理规定》《供应商管理细则》《采购人员行为规定》等制度严格落实责任采购,致力于与供应商建立共赢合作、长期互惠的合作关系。我们识别并防控采购各个环节可能发生的风险,从供应商入围资质审核、现场考察、内部评估测试、入围公示到入选等环节实施全链条审查模式,多维度评估考核供应商财务风险、商业道德、EHS 管理、及质量管理等方面的综合水平。


对于已有供应商,我们定期开展评审,对供应商服务意识、产品质量、履约能力等方面进行综合评估,以筛选出优质供应商。针对不达标供应商,则要求其进行整改,若整改后仍不达标则执行淘汰程序。


世纪集团致力于打造可持续的供应体系,在保障采购需求、及时履行约定的同时,积极推动供应商提升可持续发展水平。在供应商管理的各工作流程中,我们有针对性地加入对供应商ESG 风险的考量,重点关注其在环保低碳、信息安全、劳工权益、职业健康安全及廉洁诚信方面的表现。



· 环保低碳:优先考虑具备环境管理体系(ISO 14001)认证及具有良好碳管理水平的供应商


· 信息安全:与确认合作的供应商签订合同及《供应商保密协议》,明确信息安全责任和保密义务


· 劳工权益:严禁供应商雇佣童工及强迫劳动,积极保护和推动供应链员工合法权益


· 职业健康安全:要求供应商遵守适用的安全规范并建立完善的职业健康保障体系,适时对其员工进行健康安全培训


· 廉洁诚信:针对采购人员开展专项反贪污培训,要求全体供应商签署《反商业贿赂行为承诺书》,将不诚信供应商信息同步至中国企业反舞弊联盟数据库。

全球具有重要影响力的网络空间基础设施服务提供商